September Technical Virtual Meeting Summary

The September Technical Meeting was conducted as a live virtual lunchtime meeting. The Presenter was long-time Chapter member, Past President, and current ASSP Board Member, Pam Walaski. The title of the Presentation was “The Role of Indicators in OSH Performance Management” discussing leading and lagging indicators.

There were thirty-eight (38) people that participated including an ASSP member from the Greater Boston Chapter and one form the Bakersfield CA Chapter. We had 68 people register for the virtual meeting which is about a 56% attendance rate.

Thank you to those who participated in this virtual meeting!

May, July, and August Virtual Meeting Summary

The May Technical Meeting was conducted as a virtual meeting with the webinar for titled “COVID-19: Approaches for Safety Professionals in Risk Management and Insurance”. Twenty-two (22) members participated.

There was no Technical Meeting in June.

The July Technical Meeting was conducted as a virtual meeting with the webinar for titled “Implementing and Assessing Health and Safety Management System with the A10 Standards”. Eight (8) members participated.

The August Technical Meeting was conducted as a virtual meeting with the webinar for titled “Getting a Seat at the Table – Transforming Safety into a Trusted Business Partner”. Eight (8) members participated.

Thank you to those who participated in this virtual meeting!

Nomination and Elections Committee Members Needed

The Chapter needs volunteers for the 2021 Nominations and Election Committee to oversee the 2021 Election of Officers for the 2021-2022 Chapter year. Duties include reviewing nominations for Chapter Officers ensuring the candidates meet the requirements for holding office, if so elected. The committee will be functioning from December 2020 through March 2021.More definitive information can be found in the Chapter By-laws in Article VI – Nomination and Election of Officers, Section 1. The By-laws are located on the ASSP WPA website under the Files tab. The link to the page is .If you are interested in volunteering for the Nominations Committee, email Chapter President Josh Becker at  .

Please let Josh Becker know of your interest via email no later than November 01, 2020.

Call for Virtual Meeting Presenters for Chapter Technical Meetings

This is your opportunity to share your knowledge and experience with fellow chapter members!
The Executive Committee, specifically the Planning Committee, is asking for any and all members that may have an interest in presenting at a virtual technical meeting for the Chapter, to email Fran Sehn, Planning Committee Chair, at .

The Executive Committee will work with you if you are interested though not sure about a topic or how what you want to present on can be accomplished or if you are interested yet have not done this in the past.

We are looking for NEW Presenters for the virtual meetings. We are moving toward doing the live virtual meetings instead of recorded webinars during this pandemic.

The chapter is using Cisco WebEx for our virtual Chapter meetings. 

Western Pennsylvania Chapter Achieved Silver Level Recognition within ASSP

The following message was received from ASSP:
“Congratulations on a great chapter year. The Western Pennsylvania Chapter has achieved Silver level recognition for the 2019-2020 year. This recognition is based from the information your chapter submitted in the Chapter Operations Management Tool (COMT) of 6/30/2020. 

This year provided a new challenge and ASSP chapters adapted to the realities this situation created to protect the health and well-being of their members and local communities.  All your efforts benefited your chapter members and the safety profession as a whole.  The chapters achievement of this level of success is greatly appreciated by ASSP.  

Again, congratulations on your accomplishment, and thank you for your work in providing opportunities for ASSP members to become better safety professionals.”

Congratulations and job well done to the Executive Committee of the 2019-2020 Chapter Year led by Cameron Boots and Bill Boots!